To fulfill our Community Action National Performance Standards, the 12-member board of directors represents our community and the people we serve: one-third public sector (elected officials); one third private sector (business, nonprofit, education, faith-based, etc.); and one-third client sector (from groups self-organized among low-income community members).

Our commitment to inclusion, diversity, equity and access goes beyond requirements. Over 15 years ago the board convened the Latinx Advisory Committee (LAC), which has grown into a coalition of 150+ leaders, service providers and community members. With bilingual monthly meetings and public policy listening sessions, the LAC’s mission is to build relationships, develop leadership, and advise decision-makers. The LAC nominates at least one participant to become a Community Action board member.

2023 Board Packets

2023 Board Roster Representing Sector
Kati Ortiz
Skagit Valley College
Client Sector
Christina Soltero
Burlington-Edison School District
Client Sector
Jamie Thornberry
American Legion Post 91
Client Sector
Heather Wallace
Head Start Policy Council
Client Sector
Kate Bennett, Vice President
True North Consulting
Private Sector
Gregg Davidson, Treasurer
Private Sector
Carolyn Moulton
Lautenbach Recycling 
Private Sector
Silvia Reed, Secretary
Mount Vernon Chamber of Commerce
Private Sector
Richard Brocksmith, President
Mount Vernon City Council
Public Sector
Danny Hagen
Skagit County Assessor
Public Sector
Tina Tate
Hospital 304 District Commissioner
Public Sector
Ron Wesen
Skagit County Commissioner
Public Sector